Writings‎ > ‎

Book Reviews

I had a hard time reading in school. I would read like I was supposed to, but then I would suddenly realize that I wasn't retaining any information. I would have to flip back until I found something that seemed familiar. Since college, I've discovered the solution. I must read multiple books at the same time. When I finish a chapter in one, I put it down and pick up another. The switch is enough to keep my attention. (Unless the books are too similar or by the same author.) Therefore, I'm always reading quite a few books at a time and when I finish one, it's a grand accomplishment. I've decided to review the ones I would recommend to others. Of course, the book you should read the most and study the most is the Bible. This page is for you literary overachievers. 

Some of these reviews were written to accompany our church bookstore's Pick of the Month.

Note: Before anyone chides me on referring to authors by their first name, I just want to say that I know you're supposed to refer to an author by his or her last name. It's just that these are my brothers and sisters in Christ and after reading their books, I feel as if I know them. Perhaps I know them better than some of the people I see at church and I call them by their first name. It's actually a way of me showing them respect and love as a brother in Christ.

The Heavenly Man

posted Feb 15, 2011, 1:43 AM by Jonathan Dow

For all those people who say that God doesn't do miracles anymore... For all those people who think the books of Acts was unique in the way people followed God... For all those people who think that the Word of God has no power... For all those people who need a hunger for the Word of God... For all those people who need to see what it's like to live a life of trust and obedience... For all those people who are suffering for His kingdom and for all of those who don't... please...

A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23

posted Feb 15, 2011, 1:31 AM by Jonathan Dow

The Bible compares us to sheep in order to give us a physical picture so we can understand a spiritual relationship. Until I read this book, I always read those passages in the Bible and learned about sheep from already understanding the spiritual relationship with my God.

This book is a wonderful study of the connection between a Shepherd and his sheep. It helped me realize how helpless and apt to run into danger they are. I wonder if any of them could ever exist in the wild or have they been cared for by men since the flood.

I recommend this book to anyone and everyone who wants to understand what our relationship to God is like. Us being helpless and running to danger and our Shepherd loving us and giving His life for our safety.

Out of The Silent Planet

posted Feb 15, 2011, 1:19 AM by Jonathan Dow

Lewis is such an expert at allegory. Even though this is fiction, you see the truth of God explained in the wonderful world of the Silent Planet. A modern day parable, we can still learn Spiritual truths (one in particular in here about the Holy Spirit) through simple stories. This is the first of three books. I haven't read the other two yet... but I'm going to... and when I do... well... I guess I'll just post them here. A little anti-climatic, but whatcha gonna do?

Be Loyal

posted Feb 14, 2011, 10:28 PM by Jonathan Dow

I really enjoy reading Wiersbe commentaries. He does a good job explaining the passage without using a lot of Theological terms and the books are easy to carry around.

Be Diligent

posted Feb 14, 2011, 10:23 PM by Jonathan Dow

I really enjoy reading Wiersbe commentaries. He does a good job explaining the passage without using a lot of Theological terms and the books are easy to carry around.

How To Study The Bible and Enjoy It

posted Feb 14, 2011, 9:02 PM by Jonathan Dow

If you just became a Christian or are intimidated at the thought of reading and studying the Bible, I would recommend this book. It starts at showing you how to choose a Bible and then goes into how to get the most out of it. A lot of people teach the Bible incorrectly and if you didn't read it for yourself, you are more likely to believe the falsehoods that they teach. Be diligent.

Mere Christanity

posted Feb 14, 2011, 8:49 PM by Jonathan Dow

The first book I read by C.S. Lewis was this one. If I thought I was smart and if I thought I could rationalize and philosophize the teaching of the Bible, I was dwarfed by the mind of C.S. Lewis in Mere Christianity. If you have a problem with the way Bible addresses certain topics, read this book. If you wonder why God might say some of the things He says, read this book. If you just want to put on your thinking cap and dive into the pool of God's divine, this book is your little paddle board.

Lost Boy

posted Feb 14, 2011, 8:31 PM by Jonathan Dow

The story of Greg Laurie isn't a happy one, but it puts hope in the hearts of anyone who's shed tears over children growing up in broken families. What Greg missed in a father, God provided through Himself. He didn't see it at the time, but God was there.

The Keys To Spiritual Growth

posted Feb 14, 2011, 8:21 PM by Jonathan Dow

I honestly don't remember anything about this book, but I do remember reading it and liking it. I'll get back to reading it someday and post a proper review. It was given to me by a man I respect very much.

An Altered Life

posted Feb 14, 2011, 3:55 PM by Jonathan Dow   [ updated Feb 14, 2011, 8:41 PM ]


I won't lie. I love Pastor Pancho's teachings. I got this book solely based upon the fact that Pancho wrote it. You know how some bands are better live? Well... as far as a literary treasure, this one may fall short, but as far as a record of God's grace and provision, this is cake.

It's short, it reads fast, but God did not hold back when blessing brother Pancho. He won't hold back when blessing you either, but sometimes it takes hindsight to see what He really did.

1-10 of 28